top of page

Review: Stain

Book written by A.G. Howard, published 2019.



Once upon a time, the sky was rent in half. The sun makes its way across the blue expanse above the kingdom of Eldoria, east to west and back again. Princess Lyra is not like the other people in her kingdom, with tanned skin and dark hair. Everything about her is as pale and fragile as the moonlight, from her bluish-tinged flesh to her white hair and spider-silk lashes. To add to her unusual appearance, Princess Lyra cannot speak. Her voice is only capable of alluring music. As strange as she may seem, Princess Lyra has a great destiny ahead of her, one that will change the very fabric of her world.


Below Eldoria’s light and life, the moon makes a similar diurnal course over the kingdom of Nerezeth. Nerezeth’s people are pale, silvery, and able to find their way in the dark. Prince Vesper, however, is copper-toned and night-blind. His appearance may be the opposite of his people’s, but his vehemence to provide for and protect them is as strong as any king before him. But there is a prophecy looming in Prince Vesper’s future, a prophecy that will seemingly dictate the life he is to live. But there is more than one way to interpret this prophecy, and the hands of fate will truly be tested through this gripping fairy tale.


This is one of my favorite stand-alone novels. It’s a flawless adaptation of five classic fairy tales, including “The Little Mermaid”, “Sleeping Beauty”, and “Cinderella”. This book is a wondrous work of art, and I wholeheartedly recommend this one for your TBR list and your bookshelf.


I honestly can’t say enough about this novel. I am a huge fan of the world-building. It plays a huge part in the plot and the characters, and it is a clever way to help combine all of these fairy tales into one book. It’s honestly unlike anything I have ever read before. I also love Howard’s writing style; it’s such a different tone than some of her other books. Stain is poetic and lyrical without sounding cheesy or cliché. It’s vibrant in terms of the setting, action, and depth of the characters. The characters themselves fall into familiar archetypes, but they come across as their own individuals with their own personas of strength. Not to mention the depicted romance is touching and earnest, and it makes me swoon every time. It’s difficult to really explain all that I love about the book without giving too much away, so I highly encourage you to read it if you haven’t, and join us for a discussion below!


This book contains minor language, some violence (including murder and torture), and some innuendo (though nothing explicit). It’s a solid PG-13 story.


Spoiler alert! Stop here if you haven't read Stain by A.G. Howard.


"It take more strength to humble yerself and reach for another's wisdom, than it do to plummet into the unknown without gripping the proffered hand for anchorage."


The world-building truly fascinated me. It seems like such a simple idea—a day kingdom and a night kingdom—and yet it felt so original. It was the perfect canvas on which to paint the plot. I also love that these kingdoms aren’t gentle or idyllic. Politics and magic aside, the natural elements of each kingdom, like quag-puddles and cadaver brambles, are meant to challenge the people that live nearby. This is a world where one can’t just sit around and wait for life to happen—life is fought for and defended. It’s just one of the many ways that Howard has paid tribute to the more gruesome side of the original stories by the Grimm brothers and Hans Christen Andersen.


I was very impressed that Howard found a way to incorporate all of these fairy tales into one book. I found references to “Snow White”, “Sleeping Beauty”, “Cinderella”, “Beauty and the Beast”, and “The Little Mermaid”. (There could be more in the smaller details of the story, but those are the five that play the biggest part in the overall plot.) I know that if I tried to sew all of those stories into one, it would come out awkward and just plain terrible. There would be way too many elements for me to juggle, but Howard found a way to seamlessly make them all work together in a new and imaginative way. Vesper was promised that he would know his true love by her voice, but Vesper found her through her words in their mental connection, not the actual sound of Lyra’s musical voice. Lyra was poisoned by her evil aunt but through a glass of milk instead of an apple. And true, unconditional love was found as Lyra tamed the heart of a beastly Pegasus. It’s all familiar when you look at the individual pieces, but the overall image is fresh and captivating, and I will never get tired of reading it.


That leads me to my favorite part about this novel: Howard’s rebranding of classic fairy tale character archetypes. The princess may be small, mute, and gentle, but she’s unafraid of getting her hands dirty and enduring pain. She has such a silent strength about her, and she got the opportunity and the encouragement to dole out her own punishment against those that wronged her. The prince may be regal, handsome, and just, but he’s also rageful and does not hesitate to be disrespectful. Those are typically qualities we see in a classic villain, but Vesper uses those characteristics to fuel his righteous desires. And even with all that, he was the one that needed saving by true love’s kiss.


Lyra and Vesper are my favorite fairy tale pairing. Their romance is tender and lovely to read, but I think it’s also one of the best-balanced and well-thought-out relationships I have read. Lyra and Vesper had five years to forge a partnership without knowing their true identities. Their compatibility was well and truly tested, so by the end, it’s obvious how well they match each other. Lyra’s mercy and gentleness rub off on Vesper, who is naturally very brash and violent. One word from her, and Vesper stands down, completely trusting Lyra to do what needs to be done. Vesper’s vengeful nature inspires Lyra with the courage she needs to stand up for herself. She’s always been willing to bleed for the sake of someone she loves, but Vesper’s trust empowers her to seek her own justice. I think that’s the kind of relationship our society wants to see in fairy tales these days; equal partners that express unconditional trust and respect for each other and their needs. It’s not a story about damsels and knights in shining armor and true love’s kiss. It’s what makes this story an honest representation of humanity. We all have our own strengths and weaknesses, and sometimes it’s hard for us as a community to respect differences for what they are. But just because we’re different doesn’t mean that we’re incompatible with each other. We may find balance if we let others inspire our happiness and our inner beauty, even if it’s in a way we never imagined before.


I can’t say enough about this novel, but I’ll stop here because I want to hear what the rest of you think. I can’t wait to hear from you!

19 views2 comments

Related Posts

See All

2 Comments


thropots
Jan 06, 2023

I read this book last year, and I really enjoyed it. However, I found it a slow start. It took me longer than expected to connect with the main characters. The world building was great, but the first half or so of the book, I felt like I really didn't get to know Stain. I was told about her, but didn't connect with how she felt about what was happening. The second half of the book, I finally connected with the main characters and it was fantastic. Overall, I really liked it.


Another fairy tale reference into book is The Princess and The Pea. Not as strong as I had expected given how the book began, but it's there.


Like
Replying to

How could I have forgotten The Princess and the Pea?! The book did begin with an obvious reference to it, but I guess it played more of a part in characterizing Lyra and Lustacia than it did in the progression of the plot like the other references did, which is probably why it slipped my mind.


I also forgot that I had a similar experience the first time I read the book. 😅I know it took me a few reads to really understand how all of the magic worked, and who was responsible for what event. I think I was drawn more to the writing style and the imagery of the story the first time, and I loved it so…

Like
pexels-pixabay-159711.jpg
Novel Comp Script logo trans.png
bottom of page