top of page

Review for Pride: A Pride and Prejudice Remix

Book written by Ibi Zoboi, published 2018.



The hood of Bushwick in Brooklyn, New York is Zuri Luz Benitez’s whole world. The chipping paint, cursing neighbors, block parties, and eccentric landlady make Bushwick feel like home. But Zuri fears for the character of her community when the new neighbors, the Darcys, renovate the house across the street into their own mini-mansion. People that obviously wealthy not only threaten the economy of Bushwick, but they don’t fit with the usual vibe that Zuri identifies with so passionately. On top of that, the Darcys seem arrogant and snobbish to Zuri, especially Darius, whose sour expression would indicate he doesn’t even want to try to fit into the new neighborhood. Zuri would much rather pretend that the Darcys and their upscale house don’t exist, but it doesn’t seem possible, especially when Darius’ brother, Ainsley, and Zuri’s sister, Janae, start making moon eyes at each other. Is it possible to ignore change when it literally comes knocking at your door?


I really appreciate Zoboi’s adaptation and the fresh perspective she brings to Jane Austen’s classic. Zoboi’s retelling focuses more on themes than plot, so if you’re looking to dip your toe in a little before tackling the original Pride and Prejudice, I might try something else. Like, you still could read this one and enjoy it if you’ve never read Pride and Prejudice before, but I think you’d get so much more out of Zoboi’s book if you were already pretty familiar with the original plot and themes.


Zoboi’s decision to revise the Bennetts into a black family living in modern-day Brooklyn gives a strong new emphasis to the lines that money draws across societies and how it influences the way we view our communities and their individual members in a more relevant storyline. I’ll admit, I’m not well-versed in black culture, so there was some dialogue and a few concepts I didn’t quite understand, but I found that I related to Zuri’s inner mission and the emotions that were driving her. And now I’m excited to reread Austen’s novel and take a closer look at how the two compare. It’s definitely worth the read, and I would encourage y’all to give it a try.


This book contains language including f-bombs and one simple fist-fight.


You all know the drill :) Spoilers ahead!


“This is what happens in life—you take the good with the bad . . . But you gotta grow up. It’s a big world out there.”


I loved that Zuri’s main motivation was a fear of change—or rather, change that she herself does not control, especially when it comes to her home. Zuri didn’t want the Darcys and their big fancy house in her neighborhood because she worried that their money would change the presence and livelihood of her neighbors. Zuri didn’t want Ainsley to change Janae. Zuri didn’t like how comfortable Janae looked in that big house surrounded by nice things because she didn’t want Janae to forget where she comes from and where she’s always fit in. Sure, Janae spent a year at college and her eyes were opened to a whole world of possibilities and changes, but that one didn’t bother Zuri so much because that’s what Zuri wanted to do. She wanted to go to college and empower herself to make changes that would improve and maintain her hood. It’s okay if Zuri goes out with Warren because Warren is one of her people and he won’t change who she is. I’ve never thought of Elizabeth Bennett as a character that feared change, and it was an unexpected trait that made Zuri so relatable to me. I hate change. I hate those moments that remind me I’m growing up and that everyone around me is too. I hate the things that change how my neighborhood looks and feels, and it was even worse when I was Zuri’s age. But I also know that time is relentless, and even if I hate it at first, one day I’ll wake up and it will all feel like it’s been there all along, and I think that’s what Zuri kind of discovered by the end. That change is natural, and it’s all just the new normal.


Just as a side note, I also liked reading all of Zuri’s poetry. It made Zuri’s voice more present in the story, and Zuri is a talented writer! I’m not an expert in poetry, but all of the imagery was clear and potent with solid rhythm and metaphor. It was a clever idea on Zoboi’s part for giving Zuri the opportunity to express herself and the audience to follow Zuri’s train of thought.

4 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All

Comentarios


pexels-pixabay-159711.jpg
Novel Comp Script logo trans.png
bottom of page